Cover for Pump Priming Grant 2019

Pump Priming Grant 2019

Professor Ian Isherwood Pump Priming Grant 2019

Professor Ian Isherwood Pump Priming Grant 2019
The British Society of Neuroradiologists is pleased to announce the call for the 2019 Professor Ian Isherwood Pump Priming Grant.

Background: The award is dedicated in honour of Professor Ian Isherwood (1931-2018) and his pioneering work in neuroradiology.

Aims: The aim of the grant is to provide funding for a junior trainee or early years consultant to undertake an early phase, proof-of-concept study; typically, with a view to a subsequent substantive grant application. The research should relate specifically to a branch of neuroradiology.

Eligibility: Trainee applicants are encouraged, but must be supervised by a BSNR member in good standing. In addition, members of the BSNR in good standing holding appointments of any grade (but usually within 5 years of their first consultant level appointment) are encouraged to apply. Funding will be to support new work. Retrospective funding of completed work will not be considered.

Funding: A maximum of £10,000 will be awarded to any individual project.

Form of Application and expectations:

Applications should comprise:

Summary of the proposed project. Four page (A4); to include background, methods, outcome objectives, timelines and a description of what the grant support will specifically fund.
Current CV
Letter(s) of support from the research supervisor(s)
Recipients will be expected to present the results of their research project at the BSNR annual meeting in 2020, and provide a final written report to the Academic Subcommittee.

Method of Assessment: Proposals will be assessed by a panel nominated by the BSNR Academic Subcommittee.

The closing date for applications for the 2018 award is 26th April 2019

Interviews for shortlisted applicants will be held at RCR in London on 17th June 2019

Applicants will be notified of the outcome by July 2019

Further enquires and applications should be made to by email to the Chair of the Academic Subcommittee, currently Professor Adam Waldman:

Applications must be received by 5pm on the closing date.

See Terms and Conditions