Cover for BSNR Prof Iain Wilkinson Undergraduate Essay Prize 2022

BSNR Prof Iain Wilkinson Undergraduate Essay Prize 2022

We are delighted to announce the winners for the 2022 Prof Iain Wilkinson Essay Prize addressing the question ‘Will artificial intelligence support or replace neuroradiologists 10 years from now?’

The 2022 winner is Syed Muzaffar Abbas, final year medical student at the University of Southampton. Syed receives the £250 Essay Prize. The judges were highly complimentary of Syed’s thoroughly researched and well written essay. Read it here.

The Judges also highly commended the essay by Divine Mwawasi, 2nd year medical student at St Andrew’s who receives the £150 Runner-Up prize. Read it here.

The essay prize is awarded in honour of Prof Iain Wilkinson, Professor of Magnetic Resonance Physics at the University of Sheffield who died in 2020. Prof Wilkinson was a leading figure in UK clinical brain imaging research and a long-standing friend of the British Society of Neuroradiologists. The 2023 Essay Prize competition will be advertised in spring 2023 here.