Skip to main content

Annual Meeting

Past Meetings

Please find a full list of the locations of all our Annual Meetings below.


The 2019 Annual Meeting was held on 10th and 11th October in the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, Cardiff.

See conference report here.

2018—Dublin 2018

The 2018 Annual Meeting was held on 12th and 13th October in the Gibson Hotel, Dublin.

Click here for more details and images


The 2017 Annual Meeting was held on 15th and 16th September in Cambridge.


The 2016 Annual Meeting was held in York.


The 2015 Annual Meeting was held on 9th and 10th October in Sheffield.


The 2014 Annual Meeting was held on 10th and 11th October in Belfast.


The 2013 Annual Meeting was held on 11th October in Oxford.


The 2012 Annual Meeting was held on 20th, 21st, 22nd and 23rd September in the EICC, Edinburgh.


The 2011 Annual Meeting was held in Newcastle.


The 2010 Annual Meeting was held in Glasgow.


The 2009 Annual Meeting was held on 8th, 9th and 10th October in Albert Hall, Nottingham.


The 2008 Annual Meeting was held on 10th October in Manchester.


The 2007 Annual Meeting was held on 12th October in London.


The 2006 Annual Meeting was held on 13th and 14th October in Kingston-upon-Hull.


A record number of delegates attended the meeting, and the preceding Neurointervention Symposium, held at the Sheraton Grand Hotel in Edinburgh and organised by Dr Robin Sellar and his colleagues.

The distinguished faculty of invited speakers included:

Dr Karel Ter Brugge (Toronto, Canada)
Dr Neil Stoodley (Bristol)
Prof Michel Mawad (Houston, USA)
Prof Rudiger Von Kummer (Dresden, Germany)
Prof Donald Hadley (Glasgow)
Dr Jacques Dion (Atlanta, USA)
Prof Tarek Yousry (London)
Dr Jill Hunter (Houston, US)

The presentations from the invited speakers and from society members were of a uniformly high standard and warmly received. Regrettably Professor Sir Peter Mansfield, Nobel Laureate, was indisposed, and unable to deliver the James Bull Lecture during the meeting.

The Burrows Prize, for the best submitted presentation at the meeting was awarded to Dr Peter Flynn (Belfast).

Awards of commendation were received by Dr Samantha Mills (Manchester) and Dr Emma Wignall (Sheffield).

Social highlights included a reception at Edinburgh Castle, and the Annual dinner was held in the magnificent surroundings of the Netional Gallery od Scotland.


The 2004 meeting was held in Cambridge. Trinity College was the venue for an excellent meeting hosted by Dr Antoun and his colleagues from Addenbrookes Hospital.

The James Bull Lecturer was Professor W G Bradley from University of California,San Diego. Other guest lecturers were Prof Houdart (Paris), Prof Yousem (Baltimore), Prof Melhem (Philadelphia) and Dr Martin Graves from the University of Cambridge.

The Annual Dinner was held in the Great Hall of Trinity College with dinner the night before in the equally majestic surroundings of Kings College. Those not heading for home enjoyed punting on the River Cam on the Sunday morning.


In 2003, the BSNR ventured overseas to Amsterdam where arrangements for the meeting had been made by locally based Neuroradiologist and BSNR member Dr Gareth Davies.

The meeting was held on 10th and 11th October at the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The James Bull Lecture was given by Professor Semir Zeki from London, an authority in the field of cognitive neuroscience. His lecture, titled “The Neurology of Ambiguity” was enthusiastically received.

Members present enjoyed a reception on the Friday evening at the Miranda Pavilion preceded by a boat trip on the Amstel River.

The Annual Dinner was held in the Great Industrial Club in Central Amsterdam.

Of course many found time to investigate the many and varied delights of the city beyond. Those with interesting photos are invited to share them with the Secretary.


The 2002 meeting was held in Winchester on Friday 11th and Saturday 12th October, most capably organised by Drs Barker, Millar, Gawne-Cain and Ditchfield, of Southampton General Hospital. Dr Gawne-Cain took the chair of the organising Scientific Programme committee.

Professor Brian Tress from Melbourne was James Bull Lecturer, and Professor Daniel Rufenacht of Geneva contributed to the session on spinal disease. More than 30 members’submitted abstracts were accepted for presentation.

Social highlights included a reception on HMS Warrior on Friday, and the Annual Dinner in the Great Hall, Winchester.


The 2001 Annual Scientific Meeting was held on 12th and 13th October in the delightful surroundings of the spa town of Harrogate, at the Old Swan Hotel. Around 100 delegates gathered to hear over 40 scientific presentations and invited lectures given over the two days of the meeting.

Prizes for the best scientific papers presented at the meeting were awarded to Dr Neil Stoodley (Cardiff), Dr Jonathan Gillard (Cambridge), and Miss Angharad Jones, seen to the right receiving her award from Dr Robin Sellar.