The BSNR has recently re-evaluated its goals to help it meet the challenges of the currently rapidly changing neuroradiological landscape.

The BSNR aims:

  • To promote high standards in the clinical practice of diagnostic and interventional neuroradiology throughout the UK.
  • To promote the place of neuroradiology as a core discipline of the clinical neurosciences.
  • To advise and collaborate with regulatory and professional bodies regarding development of guidelines and standards for the practice of diagnostic and interventional neuroradiology. This includes standards for facilities, delivery of service and professional abilities.
  • To support the clinical practice and continuing professional development of UK neuroradiologists.
  • To ensure, in collaboration with the Royal College of Radiologists and the PMETB, that training and education of neuroradiologists are appropriate and of a high standard.
  • To monitor and advise on the number of UK neuroradiology trainees and training posts in order to assist in balancing supply of and demand for neuroradiologists.
  • To stimulate and encourage research and research networks including ethical collaboration with radiological and therapeutic equipment manufacturers and in particular to support the scientific evaluation of equipment and devices by high quality trials.
  • To develop and maintain relationships with national and international professional bodies relevant to neuroradiology.
  • To foster communication with patient groups.
  • To promote neuroradiology to medical students, junior doctors and trainee radiologists as a rewarding and enjoyable career.

The society holds its Annual Scientific Meeting in October each year in a different medical centre in the UK and occasionally elsewhere in Europe. The Society has strong professional links with the Royal College of Radiologists. Links are also established with the European Society of Neuroradiology and the World Federation of Neuroradiological Societies. The society is also affiliated with the UK Stroke Forum.


There are four categories: Ordinary, Associate, Senior and Honorary Members.

Ordinary Members
Radiologists in substantive posts in which at least five sessions per week of their time is spent in the practice of neuroradiology and who have presented a paper at an annual meeting
Associate Members
Radiologists who have an interest in neuroradiology, trainees in neuroradiology, or other persons with a research interest in neuroradiology who do not fulfil the criteria for ordinary membership. They will be elected by simple majority at a business meeting of the Society after being proposed and seconded by two ordinary members. Where an associate member subsequently fulfils the criteria necessary for ordinary membership this shall be granted automatically on application.
Senior Members
The Society will invite members who have retired to become Senior members. They will pay no annual subscription and although they may attend the annual business meeting they may not vote. Ordinary members may continue as such on retirement if they so wish.
Honorary members
The Society may exceptionally elect to honorary membership distinguished medical practitioners working in the field of neurological sciences. Honorary members have no voting rights and are exempt from the annual subscription.


BSNR Executive Committee:

  • President (October 2016 – October 2018): Dr Andrew Clifton (St Georges)
  • President Elect (October 2018-October 2020): Dr Norman McConachie (Nottingham)
  • Immediate Past President: Dr Chris Rowland-Hill (Hull)
  • Treasurer: Prof Jonathan Gillard (Cambridge)
  • Honorary Secretary: Dr Catriona Good (Haywards Heath)
  • ESNR / WFNRS Representative: Dr Kyriakos Lobotesis (Charing Cross)
  • Standards Subcommittee Chair: Dr Gerardine Quaghebeur (Oxford)
  • TESC Subcommittee Chair: Dr Rob Lenthall (Nottingham)
  • Academic Subcommittee Chair: Prof Adam Waldman (Edinburgh)
  • UKNG Representative: Dr Peter Flynn (Belfast)
  • Junior Representative: Dr Tom Campion
  • Website and communications officer: Dr David Minks (Newcastle Upon Tyne)


du Boulay Professors 

  • Dr Daniel Birchall and Dr Stuart Currie

Daniel Birchall and Stuart Currie have commenced their roles as BSNR – RCR du Boulay Professors, and over the course of 2018 and 2019 will be visiting 12 centres around the United Kingdom, as part of their remit to promote the practice of Academic Neuroradiology around the country.



Daniel Birchall has been a Consultant Neuroradiologist at Newcastle Regional Neurosciences Centre since 1999, and has worked over the years both in a neurointerventional role and latterly as a diagnostician. He has been, and is presently, Head of Service, and has developed his profile as an academic while maintaining a full-time clinical post. He has also developed an interest in organisational function and in understanding ways of working, obtaining an MBA in recent years. His du Boulay lectures centre on human factors in Neuroradiology, particularly in relation to the cognitive, psychological, and behavioural aspects of our work as Neuroradiologists.


Dr Stuart Currie.Stuart Currie has been a consultant neuroradiologist in Leeds since April 2015. During his radiology training he gained an MSc in Health Research at the University of Leeds, a PhD in neurological imaging at the University of Sheffield and a postgraduate certificate in medical education at the University of Cambridge. In October 2017 he commenced part-time academia working closely with the Leeds Institutes of Cancer and Pathology and Biomedical Imaging. His main academic interests lie in radiological biomarkers for the diagnosis and management stratification of brain tumours. He is also a keen educator and has just completed his Masters in Clinical Education. His du Boulay lectures explore neuroradiological concepts of traumatic brain injury through the films of Rocky Balboa and advanced neuroimaging techniques through the James Bond film SPECTRE.






Application form for Membership

Application form 2014